Once Upon A Birthday Party- Part I

Since Juliette’s bday party was the catalyst for the creation of this blog, it is the topic of my first real post.

First birthday parties are no laughing matter in the world of Moms.  It is a tremendous accomplishment to birth and keep a child alive for an entire year. This accomplishment calls for a major celebration.  Apparently, this celebration MUST have a theme. I thought this a little silly at first.  After all, what is my Juliette truly into aside from putting everything she sees in her mouth. But it was only silly until I came up with my wonderfully marvelous theme- a book party.

You see, my Juliette spends most of her play time knocking her books off her rocking chair onto the floor and then putting them back on the chair.  She can do this all day and usually does.

Juliette and her books

Now that I had a suitable theme, I needed to create an invitation. I decided to create a story based on our favorite books: On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman, I Love You Through and Through by Bernadette Rosetti-Shustak, Love You Forever by Robert Munsch and Oh The Places You’ll Go by Dr. Seuss.  My biggest challenge was that I was working on my husband’s dilapidated Mac and its version of Word did not feature book fold. But that was solved easily enough. I made each page of the book one page in Word, downloaded an app to convert it into a PDF booklet and voila, I had a great looking invitation.

Invitation Cover1st page


2nd and 3rd pagesLast pages

On the last page of the book, I included all the pertinent party information and a request that guests bring a book in lieu of a card.

 I also included a bookplate for them to paste in the book.  I was planning on making my own, but found a great site with free printable bookplates. I chose these animal bookplates by Rebecca Thongkham and vintage Golden Book Designs by Sweet Jessie. 

Needless to say, after all that work, I hope this invitation got its due fridge time!

Until Once Upon A Birthday Party- Party II where I’ll discuss some of my other party DIY projects including book garland and bookmark party favors.

Sources of Inspiration

6 thoughts on “Once Upon A Birthday Party- Part I

  1. Pingback: Once Upon A Birthday Party- Part II « While Everyone Else Is Sleeping

  2. Pingback: Once Upon A Birthday Party- Part III- The Final Chapter « While Everyone Else Is Sleeping

  3. Pingback: J’s Big Birthday Adventure: Part I- The Invite | While Everyone Else Is Sleeping

Leave a Reply

